top of page
  • Writer's pictureHPA

China: Our Unforgettable Journey

Each students reflected on their journey, below are their thoughts.


Very day was so special, amazing and full of new experiences that I couldn't choose only one event from our China trip. Starting with the pandas through the temples, the overnight train trip, the markets and the acrobatic show, to the Great Wall and even the delicious Chinese meals. We had the chance to see pandas from a short distance and feed these beautiful and endangered species. In the Llama Temple the huge Statue of Maitreya, one of the world records, was seen that was carved out of a single tree. After three hours walking through the market we went to an acrobatic show that was a surprise from our group leader, Harvey, for all of us. We saw a bunch of talented people dancing, jumping, riding bicycles and motorcycles. At last but not least, I was one of the people who made it to the 20th tower on the Great Wall however, it was told us that it's impossible to do it in the time we had. It was really really hard to hike up and down on the steep stairs but it was worth it for the outstanding view and for the feeling of success when we reached the top of the mountain. Overall, I think it was a great trip especially because we were doing something in every single moment so we got to see as much as we could during the trip. By Lili Kosa


I didn’t know what to expect when I was preparing to go to China. Throughout this trip, I have enjoyed experiencing the rich cultural diversity and the history behind it all. As this is my third year taking Chinese, I was able to speak with locals a little bit and increase my language skills in an immersive environment. These days have been packed and we’ve seen too many fascinating things to name. The overnight train, the acrobatic show, and the Great Wall are a few that I especially liked. Overall, this was a great experience and I can’t wait to see more of the world. By Anna Schroedel

During this trip I learned many things about my classmates, Chinese culture, and life lessons. I got to know my classmates a lot more and I began to make many closer friends on this trip. My favorite part about the Chinese culture is the wonderful architecture especially found in the temples. The life lessons that I am able to take away from this experience is to always learn about the things that surround me, whether that be the people, the history, or the environment. By Syenna Araki


China was fascinating and captivating in so many ways, that I just can’t describe it. I was so excited for this trip to see the cities and lives in what seems like such a foreign and different country but what I didn’t expect was to fall in love with it. I was expecting to be like wow city. Woah this is chaotic or ...well this is... interesting? All experiences that were present on this trip, but what I never expected was the feeling of walking around Xi’an at night. It was after a long day of traveling and exploring, but I was mildly afraid of our “old local hotel” and didn’t want to be alone in our room alone so I said I would go since my roommate wanted to. So as I was wondering if I had made the right decision about that evening I choose to walk a bit ahead of the group. Thats when I felt everything click and change around me. I just felt so comfortable and at peace but at the same time awake and energized. The bright lights, loud noise, and overall business should have probably overwhelmed me but it just felt so right. Still connected to everyone else yet independent and free. I can never forget how the city’s chilly night breath filled up my lungs, its pulse energizing me with each step, guided by every beautifully lit street. I walked alone. And I’d never felt so free. By Sara Kimura


My highlight of the trip was shopping in the markets and getting to use the Chinese I’ve learned in a cultural setting. I was able to get really good deals and a lot of my friends depended on me to help them with ordering and bartering. I also loved seeing the Great Wall and the Terra Cotta soldiers. It’s a goal in my life to see all 8 World Wonders and now I have two done. By Roisin Darby


This whole trip will be a highlight of my life. But there was one of the activities that I loved. My favorite was when we went to the Terra-cotta soldiers. Ever since I was a kid I was interested by the wonder of the Terra-cotta warrior, it all started when I watched a movie that mention them, and when I later learned more about them. It was so interesting to see so many of the warriors and seeing all the different expressions, hairstyle, and uniform. It was also very interesting seeing how they were looking for more, and fixing the ones that unfortunately got broken. It was all just a great experience and I am glad I got to learn more about the history behind it and to see the actual Terra-cotta warriors! By Brenda Gomez


The overall trip was really fun and I'll never forget it. I think the most exciting thing was sliding down the slide at the Great Wall, and getting to feed a panda. Seeing a new culture was really great. Being with the teachers was great. Also being around the other students and forming new friendships was an amazing experience to go with the trip. By Ollie Wills


I think the best experience throughout the whole trip was getting to know so many people, making new friends, talking to people and finding out things you did not know. Before i actually started the trip i only thought about the culture and language of china as the reason of going on this kind of school trip but from the moment we started our journey i realised how this is more of a bonding trip between the people who were attending it. It was one of the best experiences of my life and i will always be grateful for this opportunity!

By Nina Thinnes


Definitely the best highlight of this trip was getting to visit this magical place with these amazing people, it wouldn’t be the same without my group. Everyone was appreciating the different places and things we visited, and everyone was living the moment, something that I think is really important in a trip like that! With no doubt, the best trip I’ve ever done! I will always remember all of them. And I bring home so many adventures and jokes we’ve experienced throughout this awesome trip! By Mar Fullana



My favorite parts of this trip were definitely the People’s Park, and visiting the city of Xi’an. People’s Park was on the first day of this trip, and I think it really set the mood for the rest of the trip. We got to interact with the elderly and their activities there, and really saw for ourselves why China is one of the best places in the world to retire in. What I really liked about Xi’an was just the vibe I got from the city. Everyone there was really down to earth, but still very straight forward. The city was really modern, but it had one of the biggest historical attractions in the world: the Terra-cotta Soldiers. I thought it was really cool how a lot of Chinese cities are moving forward and becoming more and more modern, but are still staying true to their history. Overall, this trip was an awesome experience and I am so glad I got to be a part of it. By Catie Moynahan


The main thing I am going to take away from this trip is my own image of China and its culture, not the stereotypes and the opinions of others that form our picture of a country before we have even been there. So I‘m not getting into my experience because if you desire getting to know this culture, it’s done best by visiting and doing it yourself due to the fact that my words can’t come close to the richness of this culture. By Nikolaus Wohlenberg


Climbing the Great Wall of China was definitely my personal highlight. I think it was one of the greatest things I have ever done in my life. The sky was bright blue, with no clouds in sight, which is very unusual for China. Harvey, one of our group leaders, told us that he had Visited the Great Wall multiple times and that he could count on one hand how many times the sky had ever been that bright of a blue. The reason the Great Wall was so special to me was its full of history and just so giant. It was super fun to walking the great wall. For almost 2.5 hours up and down hill with the goal to reach tower 20(the last one you could walk to). It was the best feeling to stay on the twentieth tower with friends who supported you through out walking the steep stairs. That friendships we had got even closer and people who didn’t know each other before bonded from this experience. By Marieke Renz


I am very grateful that I got the chance to go on this trip to China. Before the option to go on this trip was mentioned by the school I would have never thought that I would be going to China this year at all. My favorite part about being in China was going to the “people’s park” in Cheng du, which was our first activity we did. This part was my favorite because I got to see all the cultural differences between American people and Chinese people; it was also a great start to the trip. I had a lot of fun and got to play a Chinese game with the Chinese people. Lastly, I just want to thank my parents for making this trip happen for me and all our chaperones and leaders who made it amazing. By Emily Thompson


Here is my review blog: Coming into this trip I had zero expectations, which allowed me to live in the present and appreciate everything around me. I didn’t think about what we were missing out on or what we could be doing, which now I can say after everything there wasn’t one day I would change. The food, places, people, and overall experience was amazing. I couldn’t ask for a better spring break! By Ruby Helmuth


Our World enables HPA's students to experience things that they wouldn't here on the Big Island. It enables connection, to new cultures and people. It widens perspective and opens minds. The students who went to China developed a stronger connection to the culture and people of China, one that will last a lifetime.

As a Chinese idiom says "读万卷书,行万里路" (du wan juan shu, xing wan li lu)Reading 10,000 books and traveling 10,000 miles. Knowledge comes from books and from experiences in the world. By Mrs. Sebastian and Lei laoshi






81 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page